Delaware Section

The Carothers Award

The Carothers Lecture Award was established by the Delaware Section of the American Chemical Society in 1976 in memory of Wallace H. Carothers, one of the founders of modern polymer chemistry. The purpose of the award is to honor scientific innovators who have made outstanding contributions and advances in industrial applications of chemistry. The award is sponsored by the Delaware Section and by local chemical companies. Beginning in 1999 the Carothers Award includes a $2000 cash award.

Carothers Award Recipients

2013        Paul Anderson


2012        Donald A. Tomalia

2011        John Duncia

2010        Ronald Knudsen

2009        Jean Fréchet and Hiroshi Ito

2008        Harry Spinelli

2007        Richard DiMarchi

2006        Alan Davison

2005        Richard F. Heck

2004        James C. Stevens

2003        Frances H. Arnold

2002        Joseph DeSimone

2001        Ching Tang

2000        Robert S. Langer

1999        Barry Sharpless

1998        Mario Geysen

1997        Walter Kaminsky

1996        Edith Flanigen

1995        Herbert Eleuterio

1994        Ralph Hirschmann

1993        David Bryant

1992        C. Grant Willson and Murrae Bowden

1991        Frank Bovey

1990        Paul Janssen

1989        John Franz

1988        Paul Morgan

1987        Paul Weisz

1986        Lewis Sarett

1985        Paul Flory

1984        Alan Hay

1983        Louis Plambeck

1982        Jon Sinfelt

1981        William Baker

1980        Carl Marvel

1979        Herman Mark

1978        Edwin Land




The award is a sculpture, commissioned by the Delaware Section, of two hands molding a benzene ring, depicting man shaping molecules. The artist is Mr. Domenico Mortellito, a well-known local sculptor, muralist, and painter, who pioneered the use of synthetic materials in the fine arts.